A BHS art department thank-you | AspenTimes.com

A BHS art department thank-you

Dear Editor:The art department at Basalt High School would like to offer a big thank-you to many people and organizations. These people donated time, money, materials and support to our organization. They contributed to the success of our students’ projects and the awesome art show. Our administrators Jim Waddick and Karen Harvey continue to support all things artistic. The staff at the school gave up space and time – notably Mike Green, Forrest Grosh, Diana Kruiz, Eric Pedersen and Jerry Gasau. We always appreciate our custodial staff for dealing with the art department messes and extra requests.The following organizations donated money or materials: Aspen Thrift Shop, CCAH, Custom Framers of Glenwood, Valley Lumber, True Value, Valley View Hospital, Roaring Fork Education Foundation, Glenwood Spring Art Guild and Cyber X.The art show judges contributed greatly to the success of the display: Cathleen McCourt, Annie Brooks, Bonnie Hofto, Gayle Mortell, Matt Hayes, Leroy Duroux, Sinda Wood and Kate Thayn.We would like to congratulate all of our winners. Zoe Pratte won Best of Show, and Frank Howard won People’s Choice. The following students all placed with ribbons of first, second, third or honorable mention: Lauren Dallman, Erin Waddick, Nivardo Javalera, Emmanuel Vargas, Brittany Gugliemo, Adam Norvell, Jackie Knous, Sam Jurmu, Wade Bittany, Brett Gugliemo, Rocio Hustado, Jordan Bacheldor, Collin Mitchell, Natalie Barr, Ryan Schilt, Sara Kurz, Nick Douglas, Allison Brumet, Zoe Pratte, Lindsey Soucie, Lindsey Hillebrand, Alyssa Leslie, Josh Wolf, Michael Wieben, Vanessa Way, Frank Howard, Caroline Jurmu, Kelsey Mulcahy, Adeline Ryan-Hyatt, Addison Kerklo, Sam Christiansen, Holly Hutton, Jessica McDilda, Alex Giglio, Matt Klahn, Annie Schwener, Elisabeth Nemiec, Elizabeth Parker, Raychelle Doane, Darren Duroux, Abril M, Kristin Colonna, Christina Long, Marissa Wall, Emily Taets, Daniel Alfaro, Jesse Regan, Megan Hartlep, Annistina Hamalainen, Katy Hallock, Katy Mulcahy, Tucker Hinch and Rosie Sullivan.Our year in the art department has been creative and exciting. We hope to see lots of students next year growing through the arts!Tish McFee and Sunny WilsonBasalt High School

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User