19 seek Aspen council seat | AspenTimes.com

19 seek Aspen council seat

Aspen Times Staff ReportAspen, CO Colorado

ASPEN The Aspen City Council will have to choose one person out of 19 to fill the seat of the late J.E. DeVilbiss who passed away Sept. 18. Nineteen individuals have applied for the position. The deadline for applications was Tuesday at 4 p.m.The four council members Mayor Mick Ireland, and City Councilmen Jack Johnson, Dwayne Romero and Steve Skadron will rank their favorites by Thursday at 5 p.m. A public meeting to discuss the short list is tentatively set for 10 a.m. on Friday. Questions from council members will be given to the top candidates to answer in writing by Oct. 7. The council intends to interview candidates individually at an Oct. 15 meeting that will be open to the public. The council expects to vote on the appointment at a special meeting on Oct. 16.Many names on the list should be familiar to Aspen voters, as they have previously sought election to city office, often unsuccessfully. Others are political newcomers.Among the candidates are two former council members Torre, who was elected to one term on the council and ran twice unsuccessfully for mayor, and Jasmine Tygre, who was appointed to the council in December 2006 after Rachel Richards was elected as a Pitkin County commissioner. Richards resigned her council seat and Tygre, who had been a longtime member of the citys Planning and Zoning Commission, finished out Richards term, but did not seek election to the seat.Four members of the current P&Z L.J. Erspamer, Cliff Weiss, Brian Speck and alternate Michael Wampler are seeking appointment to the open seat. So are Ron Erickson and Marcia Goshorn, both members of the Aspen/Pitkin County Housing Board. Erickson also is on the Wheeler Opera House Board.Others on the list who have previously run for council or mayor include Goshorn, Erspamer, Wampler, Weiss, Andrew Kole, Bert Myrin and Bonnie Behrend.DeVilbiss was elected in 2005. Whomever is appointed to the seat will presumably serve the remainder of his term; the seat comes up for election in May 2009.Those who filed applications, according to the clerks office, were:Bonnie BehrendRon EricksonL.J. ErspamerCatherine GildorMarcia GoshornPaul HerrMary JanssJackie KasabachJohn KellyAndrew KoleHowie MalloryJay MaytinBert MyrinJim PomeroyBrian SpeckTorreJasmine TygreMichael WamplerCliff Weiss

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User