10 candidates vie for Aspen fire district board

Michael McLaughlin
The Aspen Times

Ten candidates are running for three openings on the board of directors for the Aspen Fire Protection District.

The May 6 mail-in election has drawn incumbents D. Stone (Stoney) Davis and Thomas C. Clapper, along with candidates Chuck Fillon, Steven Seyffert, Denis Murray, David C. Lyons, George Kremer, Stefan Reveal, Wendle Whiting and Mike Haman.

The Aspen board consists of five members. Terms are four years.

Aspen Deputy Fire Marshal Jan Legersky said the number of candidates running might be the most she’s ever seen.

“We’re kind of amazed,” Legersky said. “Usually we don’t see this much interest in a special district election.”

Fire district directors oversee the financial management of their district. They generally meet once a month to review and approve budgets, as well as advise on other district financial matters.

The guidelines that a special district operates within are found in the State of Colorado Department of Local Affairs under Title 32. Those guidelines state that special district board of directors can earn up to $100 per meeting with a maximum of $1,600 earned per year.

Special districts in Colorado are political subdivisions of the state, which make up a third level of government in the United States. The federal and state governments are the other two levels.

In the Aspen race, mail ballots are required to be sent to eligible electors between 15 and 22 days prior to the election date.

Completed ballots must be received by 7 p.m. on May 6. Directions for voting are included on the ballot.

Ballots can be mailed to or dropped off in person at the Aspen Fire Protection District building at 420 E. Hopkins Ave.