Wheeler Opera House announces ‘Sunset Sessions’ event series | AspenTimes.com

Wheeler Opera House announces ‘Sunset Sessions’ event series

Staff report

The Wheeler Opera House has announced the lineup for its third annual Sunset Sessions summer series. Performances will feature music, spoken word, comedy and more. The events will be presented in The Vault — formerly the Wheeler Bar Lobby stage. All events are free to the public. The bar opens at 7 p.m. and all performances begin at 8 p.m.

There will be a limited number of reserved tables available for purchase. Tables of four can be reserved in advance starting on Tuesday, June 4, and include a bottle of wine from the bar and a food platter from Aspen Public House.

“It’s hard to believe this is already the third year of our Sunset Sessions series,” Wheeler executive director Gena Buhler said in the announcement. “We are so excited to have this free series back at the Wheeler, thanks to the support from the Real Estate Transfer Tax (RETT). From poetry to stand-up comedy, singer songwriters to family programming, the Sunset Sessions series has something for everyone in Aspen!”

The full lineup:

Comedian Ismo Leikola: Tuesday, June 18 and Wednesday, June 19

Jan Garrett & JD Martin: Wednesday, July 3

Trace Bundy: Wednesday, July 17

“Cuentos: Tales from the Latino World” by David Gonzalez: Thursday, July 18

Writ Large: An Evening of Storytellers: Sunday, July 21

Comedian Zainab Johnson: Wednesday, July 24 and Thursday, July 25

An Evening of Poetry: Sunday, July 28

Locals Comedy Open Mic hosted by Rebecca Robinson: Wednesday, July 31

Brendan James: Thursday, August 1

Comedian Chris Garcia: Thursday, August 8

Colorado Music Showcase: Monday, August 12


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.