Theatre Aspen earns seven Henry Award nominations |

Theatre Aspen earns seven Henry Award nominations

Alison Luff as Jo, Alie Walsh as Beth, Jessica de Jong as Meg and Sydney Patrick as Amy in Theatre Aspen's "Little Women." The ensemble cast is nominated for a Henry Award.
Jeremy Swanson |

Henry Award nominees

Outstanding Season for a Theatre Company

Arvada Center

Buntport Theater

DCPA Theatre Company

Town Hall Arts Center

Theatre Aspen

Outstanding Musical Direction

Donna Kolpan Debreceni, “Anything Goes,” Town Hall Arts Center

Donna Kolpan Debreceni, “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat,” Phamaly Theatre Company

David Dyer, “Little Women,” Theatre Aspen

David Nehls, “Memphis,” Arvada Center

Michael Rafter, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Dane Agostinis, “The Full Monty,” Theatre Aspen

Jim Hogan, “Memphis,” Arvada Center

TJ Hogle, “Shrek the Musical,” Breckenridge Backstage Theatre

Tim Howard, “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” Town Hall Arts Center

Wayne Kennedy, “Fiddler on the Roof,” BDT Stage

Burke Moses, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

Anna High, “Dreamgirls,” Ignite Theatre

Aisha Jackson, “Memphis,” Arvada Center

Alison Luff, “Little Women,” Theatre Aspen

Beth Malone, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company

Norrell Moore, “Anything Goes,” Town Hall Arts Center

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Musical

Constantine Germanacos, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company

Damon Guerrasio, “Shrek the Musical,” Breckenridge Backstage Theatre

Ken Krugman, “Little Women,” Theatre Aspen

Andy McCain, “Spamalot,” Midtown Arts Center

Michael Wordly, “Memphis,” Midtown Arts Center

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical

Alicia Dunfee, “Always, Patsy Cline,” Candlelight Dinner Playhouse

Annie Dwyer, “Young Frankenstein,” Town Hall Arts Center

Emily Jansen, “Spamalot,” Midtown Arts Center

Melissa Swift-Sawyer, “Memphis,” Arvada Center

Alie Walsh, “Little Women,” Theatre Aspen

Outstanding Ensemble Performance

“Little Women,” Theatre Aspen, Paige Price, Director; David Dyer, Musical Director

“Memphis,” Arvada Center, Rod A. Lansberry, Director; David Nehls, Musical Director

“Middle Aged People Sitting in Boxes,” Buntport Theater; Buntport Theater, Director

“Spamalot,” Midtown Arts Center, Jordan Nichols, Director; Casey Cropp & Nigel Huckle, Musical Direction

“The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company, Kathleen Marshall, Director; Michael Rafter, Musical Direction

Outstanding Sound Design

Craig Breitenbach, “The Unsinkable Molly Brown,” DCPA Theatre Company

Jason Ducat, “Charles Ives Take Me Home,” Curious Theatre Company

David Thomas, “Memphis,” Arvada Center

David Thomas, “She Loves Me,” Arvada Center

The Colorado Theatre Guild has nominated Theatre Aspen for seven Henry Awards for its 2014 summer repertory, including Outstanding Season for a Theatre Company, the statewide guild announced last week.

Nominations include four for the cast of “Little Women,” with Alison Luff (outstanding actress in a musical), Alie Walsh (outstanding supporting actress in a musical) and Ken Krugman (outstanding supporting actor in a musical) all up for awards, along with a cast nod for outstanding ensemble performance. Aspenite David Dyer is also nominated for outstanding musical direction for the production.

Dane Agostinis is also nominated for outstanding actor in a musical for his performance in Theatre Aspen’s “The Full Monty.”

Nominees also include part-time Snowmass Villager and Tony nominee Beth Malone for outstanding actress in a musical for DCPA Theatre Company’s “The Unsinkable Molly Brown.” Theatre Aspen sound designer David Thomas was nominated for his work on the Arvada Center’s “She Loves Me” and “Memphis.” And David Nehls, musical director for this summer’s Theatre Aspen production of “Junie B. Jones The Musical,” is nominated for directing music in the Arvada Center’s “Memphis.”

In 2009, Theatre Aspen received the Outstanding Regional Theatre Henry Award. Its 2015 season opens today with “Cabaret.”

Established in 2006, the Henry Awards honor outstanding achievements during the past season and serve as the Colorado Theatre Guild’s annual fundraising event. The awards are named for longtime local theater producer Henry Lowenstein. Nominations are determined through a judging process conducted by more than 45 statewide theater reporters, educators and assigned judges, including Aspen Times arts editor Andrew Travers.

The 10th annual Henry Awards ceremony will be July 20 at the Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities. Tickets are $23 for guild members, $30 for nonmembers or $50 for VIPs. Tickets go on sale July 6 through the Arvada Center website and at 720-898-7200. Remaining tickets will be sold at the door for $35. For more information, go to

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around Aspen and Snowmass Village make the Aspen Times’ work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Each donation will be used exclusively for the development and creation of increased news coverage.


Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User