Staff report

Back to: News
February 23, 2014
Follow News

Aspen, Snowmass papers claim press awards

The Aspen Times, Aspen Times Weekly and Snowmass Sun combined to collect 20 awards at the Colorado Press Association Better Newspaper Contest. The awards were announced Friday at a banquet in Denver.

The awards were as follows:

Snowmass Sun

Third place: Best Editorial Special Section (Louie Atencio, Jill Beathard and Max Vadnais)

The Aspen Times

First place: Best Education Story (Jeanne McGovern)

First place: Best Humorous Column Writing (Todd Hartley)

First place: Best Editorial Writing (Rick Carroll and Andre Salvail)

Second place: Best Editorial Writing (Rick Carroll, Scott Condon and Andre Salval)

Second place: Best Advertising Slogan (Louise Walker)

Second place: Best Sustained Coverage (Scott Condon)

Third place: Best Sports Column Writing (Rick Carroll)

Third place: Best Series Column Writing (Todd Hartley)

Third place: Best Restaurant or Dining Ad (Louise Walker)

Third place: Best Health Care Ad (Ashton Hewitt)

Aspen Times Weekly

First place: Best Editorial Layout and Design (Afton Groepper, Jeanne McGovern and Malisa Samsel )

First place: Best Agriculture Story (Jeanne McGovern)

First place: Best Sports Story (Jeanne McGovern)

First place: Best News Story (staff)

First place: Best Public Service Story (Jill Beathard)

Second place: Best Feature Story (Stewart Oksenhorn)

Second place: Best Editorial Writing (Amiee White Beazley, John Colson and Andy Stone)

Second place: Best Sport Story (Dale Strode)

Second place: Best Sports Event Story (Dale Strode)

Stories you may be interested in

The Aspen Times Updated Feb 23, 2014 09:55PM Published Mar 4, 2014 10:36AM Copyright 2014 The Aspen Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.