Letters to the Editor

Letter: Climate change and the Senate race

August 27, 2014 — 

Thank you for your election coverage of the important race between Sen. Mark Udall and Rep. Cory Gardner and especially for asking about climate change.

I appreciate that Gardner is concerned about economic impacts on people with low or fixed incomes. As a public school teacher, I share his commitment to the prosperity and health of the working class and people in poverty. Thus, I am sure Gardner would be happy to know there is an economic policy that can simultaneously protect our atmosphere and stimulate our economy. In fact, this policy will increase real income for the two-thirds of Americans who need it most. It’s called carbon fee and dividend, and it is a fair, revenue-neutral way to address emissions by taxing fossil fuels when they come out of the ground and giving all the money back to Americans.

Learn more »

Letter: Chumlee for prez

August 27, 2014 — 

Chumlee would make a better president. He’s smarter, and he doesn’t golf.

David Olexsak

Learn more »

Letter: Add tortoises to Aspen’s animal-abuse list

August 27, 2014 — 

Dear Aspen,

Might I remind you that you have a long and steeped history of including animals in everything from work and entertainment to fundraising, art and sport? Stop the delusional banter that this particular animal engagement is out of touch with the town’s view of animals.

Learn more »

Letter: The time is now for Snowmass

August 27, 2014 — 

Dear Mayor Bill Boineau,

As an owner of a unit at the Viceroy Snowmass, and as a longtime visitor to Snowmass for annual summer and winter vacations, I’m writing to share my perspective on the current and future development in Base Village.

Learn more »

Letter: Tall tales

August 27, 2014 — 

Locals shouldn’t worry about the new 60-foot-tall buildings. They would only be the same height as the new museum with a 13-foot turtle on the roof.

Carl Heck

Learn more »

Letter: Aspen squared

August 26, 2014 — 

Never before have I read so much negative press on a building designed by a “world-class foreign architect.” I agree with all of the negative commentary! It is an ugly, offensive, obnoxious, square building that does not fit into our quaint mountain town.

The other day I drove by the beautiful Basalt Library, designed by Michael Hassig, of A4 Architects, based in Carbondale. The building is very attractive and artistic and fits perfectly into the landscape. Heidi Zuckerman Jacobson and her board needed the prestige of having an acclaimed international architect design their museum, and look what he came up with — a square, rusted-steel-looking birdcage! How hard is it to design a square building? Hassig, I am sure, would have created a design far more sensitive to preserving the historical feeling of Aspen.

Learn more »

Letter: False assumptions in Times editorial

August 26, 2014 — 

The editor ascribes recent Aspen City Council actions to the choice of Dwayne Romero to fill a seat vacated by the last election (“Let voters decide on lodging ordinance,” Commentary, Aug. 22, The Aspen Times).

In the first instance, this is an arrogant assumption about why our elected officials vote as they do. (Arrogance seems an all-too-common trait of the Fourth Estate.) There is no basis for thinking that another individual would not have voted the same way, given the same facts and studied assessment of the issue at hand. Indeed, two other councilmen did just that!

Learn more »

Letter: Poor planning on bike race

August 26, 2014 — 

I wish to second Robin DeYoung’s statement about the impact of the bike race on the Aspen Music Festival (“Bike race was major hassle for locals as well as guests,” Letters, Aug. 25, The Aspen Times). For the second year in a row, the race was scheduled to begin the day after the music festival ended, requiring hundreds of departing music students, faculty and visiting artists, some with luggage that included unwieldy but fragile instruments, to navigate militarized detours, blocked access to the airport and flight-canceling surprises.

My own role both years has been to help a musician whose home and orchestral job are across the pond. On Aug. 18, we stored his Aspen possessions downvalley, and on Aug. 19 he boarded a flight. Timing it as best we could, this year we returned from Silt to find traffic to Aspen backed up nearly an hour from the airport and, the greater surprise, still more jammed and serpentine across Aspen itself. On the following day, leaving the car by my friend’s temporary apartment, we walked downtown to a deliberately late breakfast and found an even greater surprise: Coming toward us by City Market was an unobstructed view of the sacred peloton itself. The charging cyclists were past us within roughly a half-minute, followed by a parade of vehicles with overturned bikes on top.

Learn more »

Letter: There are other noble causes

August 26, 2014 — 

May I suggest something to Lisbeth Oden and all you other save-the-tortoises people? How about you devote just as much time and money to working in a soup kitchen or helping a child in need as you are to your campaign?

Tom O’Keefe

Learn more »

Letter: Sorbetto and sorbet: A dangerous difference

August 26, 2014 — 

I feel the obligation to write this letter to possibly prevent someone from getting very sick.

If you look in the dictionary under “sorbetto or sorbet,” you will see that it says it’s made of frozen fruit juice or flavored water and sugar. I took my lactose-intolerant sister-in-law to Paradise Bakery to try its sorbetto. After tasting it, she declared it delicious but said it was too creamy to be sorbetto. She then asked someone behind the counter if the sorbetto contained dairy and was told that only one of the sorbetto flavors out of three or four was dairy free. We suggested to the manager that she speak to the owners about posting a sign telling patrons which one was dairy-free. We stopped in a few weeks later and no sign. We were told that a sign would not be posted since they haven’t had a problem yet, so it wasn’t necessary.

Learn more »

Letter: Get on it, Snowmass

August 26, 2014 — 

The last Snowmass council meeting again gave us understanding why we are not keeping pace with the economic recovery seen elsewhere.

The two councilmen who were on the right side of the Suiter issue have now taken the wrong side of the vesting issue seemingly for the sake of being obstinate. As always, there are multiple paths available to achieve the same ends. At its essence, the path offered by the developer moves us toward our desired outcome of a Limelight hotel and an animated village core. Yes, it needs some language modified to keep our town interests protected, but why the need for the public spectacle?

Learn more »

Letter: Aspen Homeless Museum?

August 26, 2014 — 

A friend asked me to write this, and the idea was so clever and right on that I couldn’t resist.

Shigeru Ban’s buildings have often sheltered people in times of need; can we, therefore, assume the Aspen Art Museum, not St. Mary, will be housing the homeless during the winters?

Ruth Harrison

Aspen

Letter: Museum explains exhibit, relocation of tortoises

August 26, 2014 — 

The members of the Aspen Art Museum board of trustees are aware of and extremely sensitive to the perspectives raised by some about the inclusion of three African desert tortoises (commonly known as “sulcatas”) in the presentation of Cai Guo-Qiang’s exhibition “Moving Ghost Town.” In an effort to respond, and put to rest any misinformation regarding this exhibition, we feel it is important to articulate the following.

We want to again make it very clear that we would never harm or abuse animals or place any living thing in danger or harm’s way. From the initial proposal and agreement to present Cai Guo-Qiang’s “Moving Ghost Town,” we have constantly consulted with highly respected authorities on tortoises and turtles regarding their care and needs, and retained a prominent local veterinarian, Dr. Elizabeth Kremzier, to regularly examine and monitor the tortoises to assure their well-being. We have continued to adhere diligently to all tortoise health guidelines as recommended by these expert authorities.

Kremzier: “I have worked with the staff from the Aspen Art Museum since the initial planning phase of the Cai Guo-Qiang project. Without question, the welfare of the tortoises has been the highest priority throughout every stage of this exhibition.”

It also has been the Aspen Art Museum’s ongoing position that if at any time during the course of “Moving Ghost Town” it was ever deemed that the environmental circumstances, which made its presentation possible, became untenable or the well-being of the tortoises could not be absolutely assured, they would be removed immediately from the exhibition. In consultation with Kremzier, and based on her expert opinion in light of the current unseasonably cold and wet weather conditions forecasted for Aspen, she has recommended that the tortoises be relocated as of Monday. To that end, the exhibition’s three tortoises — Big Bertha, Gracie Pink Star and Whale Wanderer — will all be transitioned to a new home that was selected in consultation with and pre-approved by the Turtle Conservancy.

The Aspen Art Museum firmly believes in our institutional role of providing a wide platform for artists to realize their creative vision. “Moving Ghost Town” is no exception. We stand by the artist to ensure that vision is honored, and we are glad that this exhibition has generated such meaningful dialogue and educational awareness. We respectfully acknowledge the perspectives of those who believe that live animals should simply never be used in artworks, despite the long history of artist projects that have included them — from Robert Rauschenberg and Lucinda Childs’ “Spring Training” (1965), a performance involving 30 desert turtles with flashlights taped to their backs, to Joseph Beuys’ “I Like America and America Likes Me” (1974), in which the artist caged himself with a live coyote, and Darren Bader’s presentation of live cats as sculptures in his recent “Darren Bader: Images at MoMA PS1” (2012), to name but a few.

The Aspen Art Museum values its role in providing a simultaneous platform for freedom of artistic expression as well as for the expressions of different beliefs and points of view in relation to these ideas. We are pleased that “Moving Ghost Town” has enabled a discussion that broadens important dialogue and critical thinking and affirms the museum’s role as a catalyst for creative engagement well beyond its walls — allowing us all to ask meaningful questions in our ever-expanding search for our place in a complex and ever-changing world.

More facts and details about “Moving Ghost Town” may be found at http://www.aspenartmuseum.org/exhibitions/20-moving-ghost-town.

Thank you.

Aspen Art Museum board of trustees

Letter: Bike race was major hassle for locals as well as guests

August 25, 2014 — 

To all Aspen and Roaring Fork Valley residents who have been adversely affected by the “race” over the past week:

If you feel that the gridlock, road closures and general chaos in Aspen this past week is unacceptable, please call the mayor’s office at 970-920-5199, the city manager at 970-920-5205 or the events coordinator at 970-429-2092 and let them know how you were impacted.

I did have a chance to speak with Steve Barwick, the city manager, and he was very helpful and seemed sincere in wanting to remedy the situation in the future. The events coordinator, however, was rude and condescending, so call only if you’re up to being belittled.

Not only was our town “pimped out” with complete disregard for our residents, but it managed to ignore the needs of the music students (remember all the free joy they gave us all summer?), whose last concert was Aug. 17, and they were all trying to fly out on Aug. 18 with virtually the entire town under “lockdown.”

How about people flying in unaware? People driving in from Independence Pass? Workers? Just all of us trying to enjoy a little quality of life.

If we let this continue, it’ll get worse. Please take a few minutes and let elected officials know that this is not OK!

Robin DeYoung

Aspen

Letter: Skico and Related are in cahoots

August 25, 2014 — 

Dear Snowmass Village Town Council,

Isn’t it interesting that Aspen Skiing Co. has decided to put its nose into the debate of Related’s SAC application? As an ex-real estate developer and builder (5,000 residences and 15,000 lots), I see a “conspiracy” between Related and Skico. The town of Snowmass Village’s tongue is hanging out for a hotel in Base Village. Why now? It’s obvious that Skico wants another 400 condominiums for its business there.

Skico bailed six months ago on a hotel, and this talk now is to help Related. This is the same Skico that just before the vote in 2004 said it was going to build Base Village to completion over and over again.

That deception got my vote because the Crowns are billionaires and owned 20 percent of General Dynamics. They could not sell without the town’s approval and another vote. Well, that requirement fell through the “cracks” at Town Hall.

How could the council let Skico and Intrawest (whatever that partnership was) sell to a “shell” Related subsidiary without “due diligence”? Look what happened. Don’t tell me the foreclosure and incomplete buildings were because of the recession. Many, many financially solid companies such as the Crowns completed projects during the recession. Related New York City could have saved the project when sales fell off, but it chose to let Hypo Bank pay millions of Related’s debts to clear the title.

“What an ugly web we weave when we toil to deceive.” — Dr. Richard C. Goodwin.

Can we trust Skico?

Richard C. Goodwin

Snowmass Village

Letter: Zero tolerance for animal abuse

August 25, 2014 — 

Condoning the misuse of any creature for our whims trivializes the value of life. Maybe the tortoise is not that big of a deal when we consider other terrible animal abuses that get to continue: the killing of endangered rhinos because some believe that the horn acts like an aphrodisiac or catching the totoaba fish in the Gulf of California, which swims with the most endangered marine mammal on Earth, the vaquita (a small porpoise).

There are only 97 vaquita left, and they could be extinct in two to three years. When they net the totoaba (yes, again for an aphrodisiac from some of its parts), the endangered vaquita also gets caught in the nets. Of course there is the now-extinct Yangtze River dolphin in China that died from human activities. No one bothered to save it. And how about the abuse pigs endure so people can have their bacon? Ivory greed is still allowing elephants to be killed.

Callous indifference to any animal’s mistreatment seems like a statement that all animal abuse is condoned. This is why I will not visit the Aspen Art Museum until the tortoise display is gone. (I also don’t eat pork or beef.)

Denise Handrich

Snowmass

Letter: Snowmass needs teamwork to make the dream work

August 25, 2014 — 

Before there was a firehouse, before the Snowmass Golf Course, before the paved roads, before the town of Snowmass Village, there was Snowmass ski area. There has been a lot of change in the past few months and over the past 48 years, but there has always been an Opening Day and a Closing Day.

It took more than just one lift operator, more than just one restaurateur and more than just one ski-rental shop to open for the season. Everyone had to cooperate in a group effort to have Snowmass ready for business. The Snowmass community with its entrepreneurial spirit continues to make this amazing, family-friendly resort area one of the best in the nation.

We need progress in order to maintain and expand Snowmass’ potential. As a local business person, I am relying on this world-class destination to continue growing and updating to be relevant for my clients.

In my line of work, I strive to give my clients the most valid information to help them make a decision. Sometimes clients get caught up on minor details instead of focusing on the overall plan. My job is to help them resolve these details and achieve their real estate objectives. It feels as if the town of Snowmass, Related/Snowmass Acquisition Co. and Aspen Skiing Co. all have the same goal, which is to make everyone — visitors, homeowners, other valley residents — realize that Snowmass Village is the place to be. We just have to work together to get through these details to achieve this goal.

Fritz Benedict, Bill Janss and DRC Brown began the development of the ski area before anything else. It’s time we as a community focus on our common goal first so we all can be successful in Snowmass.

I’m Stacey K. Kelly, and I’m pro-Snowmass!

Stacey K. Kelly

Snowmass Village

Letter: City wants your Pro Challenge feedback

August 25, 2014 — 

The city of Aspen wishes to express thanks to all the volunteers and fans of the 2014 USA Pro Challenge. We had another successful and safe race through the city. A special thank-you goes to the Roaring Fork Transit Authority for its excellent and professional service.

We acknowledge that our biggest challenge was traffic management at the end of the race, and it did not go smoothly for private vehicles or public transit exiting town. On Aug. 18, we experienced a situation where fans and commuters all tried to leave Aspen immediately after the race. The large volume of traffic overwhelmed our road capacity and created a gridlock, inconveniencing many people. We apologize for not having foreseen the magnitude of traffic attempting to leave immediately after the race.

We are analyzing all of the causes of the gridlock and potential solutions. We understand that this situation did not meet our standards of customer service. Again, our apologies to all who were inconvenienced.

The City Council is offering a public feedback session on the race at 4 p.m. today in the council chambers. It’s a great time to share your thoughts on the race.

Nancy Lesley

Director of special events, city of Aspen

Letter: Neutral on Aspen Art Museum

August 25, 2014 — 

We would like to make it clear that the artists’ statement recently published in The Aspen Times criticizing the use of tortoises in “Moving Ghost Town” was not intended to encourage or promote a boycott of the Aspen Art Museum or its art in general. Museums are one of our great humanizing cultural assets, and we honor that.

Diane Andrews-Hall, Jon Robin Baitz, Monica Banks, Ross Bleckner, Hilary Brace, Jeff Carpenter, Roz Chast, Jessica Craig-Martin, Susan Crile, Emily Eveleth, Eric Fischl, Margaret Garrett, April Gornik, Michael Halsband, Pamela Hanson, Julian Lethbridge, Steve Miller, Jeannette Montgomery-Barron, Carol Muske-Dukes, John Obuck, Rosamond Purcell, Dan Rizzie, Jane Rosen, Hope Sandrow, Bastienne Schmidt, Cindy Sherman, Amy Sillman, Ulf Skogsbergh, Ned Smyth, Lucy Winton, Bruce Wolosoff and Penn Young

Letter: Petition against Ordinance 19

August 25, 2014 — 

We are organizing against Ordinance 19 because we oppose 60-foot-tall buildings, a reduction of affordable-housing requirements, loss of downtown parking spaces, millions of dollars in fee waivers — the cost of which to taxpayers city staff cannot even quantify — and the right to convert lodges to condominiums in five, 10 or 20 years. If you support us, please sign our petition. We will be near City Market from noon until 6 p.m. Our deadline is Sept. 2, so please sign in the next few days. Email bert@myrin.com or jcav.oleary@gmail.com, or call Bert at 970-925-8645 or Cavanaugh at 970-920-4969, and one of us will bring a petition to you to sign.

Bert Myrin and Cavanaugh O’Leary

Aspen

Letter: Random act of kindness

August 24, 2014 — 

Two Sundays ago, I had lunch with my friend Jane from Louisiana at the Slow Groovin BBQ in Marble. As usual, it was crowded. As there was no table for two available. I told the waitress that if she gave us a table for four, we would gladly share it with two other people.

We got the table, and shortly afterward, a nice-looking couple, much younger than we are, joined us.

They left before us, and as I was ready to pay, I was told by the waitress that our lunch had been paid by the couple seated next to us. I could not believe it! I’m 77 years old, and this had never happened to me before.

I would like so very much to thank them for their kindness, but I only know that their names are Carter and David and that they live in Carbondale, behind El Jebel’s City Market. My hope is for you to publish this note and for them to read it.

Thank you.

Renata Scheder-Bieschin

Redstone

Letter: Save the Grand Canyon

August 24, 2014 — 

There is a threat of development in the bottom of the Grand Canyon! A gondola could be built from the top, on the Native American-owned land, to the confluence of the Little Colorado with the main Colorado. This would change the wilderness feel of the canyon forever.

They also want to use the scarce water of a spring to further develop a giant tourist attraction to go along with the gondola. There are places that should be protected from development so we and the next generation can feel the tranquility of nature, hear the silence of wild places and be in a place that transcends time. There are so few of these kinds of places left.

Save the Grand! If people do not want to take the time to get there in a natural way, they can buy the video! Take action now. Sign a petition at the website of Save the Confluence (SaveTheConfluence.com), join American Rivers (AmericanRivers.org), and help them fight this development. Friends of the Grand Canyon Trust are in need of donations to win this battle, so contact your representative. Do not remain silent while one of our national treasures is destroyed.

Denise Handrich

Snowmass

Letter: Rescue tortoises should have rights, too

August 24, 2014 — 

In response to Molly Weiner’s letter (“Turtle ad is misleading,” Aug. 20, The Aspen Times), I want to say: Molly, you are not alone. Many people have noted that these are rescued tortoises.

But why is it OK to mistreat rescued animals? I personally have a rescue dog and two rescue cats. I feel I have a higher duty of care toward these fellow beings, as their lives pre-rescue were a bit grim. I want to make it up to them and ensure they have a happy life going forward. If you adopted a child from a bad situation, wouldn’t you be so careful to give that child the best life possible?

Rescuing the tortoises does not give the Aspen Art Museum the right to mistreat them! Please consider joining the 6,442 petitioners on Change.org in asking the museum to stop this immediately.

Bronwyn Anglin

Basalt

Letter: Some context needed for tortoise stir-up

August 24, 2014 — 

While my brother and his family were visiting last week, we went up to Aspen and happened to find ourselves near the Aspen Art Museum.

“Let’s go up to the roof and see the tortoises,” I said, curious about the controversy brewing over the use of tortoises to carry iPads in the name of art.

So we did. The animals in question looked just like all the other tortoises I’ve seen in zoos, lazing around, seemingly unaware of the people gathered around staring and clicking photos. They also seemed very unaware of the electronic devices glued to their shells. They were certainly far less aware than a dolphin or orca whale carrying a human rider for the entertainment of a crowd at Sea World. For that matter, do we ever consider how horses feel when we strap saddles on their backs, shove metal bits in their mouths, mount them and ride around simply for our own pleasure? Animals have been used and abused for our entertainment for centuries in circuses, zoos, theme parks, television and movies. Therefore, the sudden outcry over a few tortoises with iPads on their shells seems utterly hypocritical.

Even more so, consider that letter for letter and ad for ad, there is more outrage over the tortoises than there is over the massacre of hundreds of innocent children in Gaza by U.S.-made bombs. Get some perspective, people!

Sue Gray

Carbondale

Letter: Israel’s fate will eventually be decided

August 23, 2014 — 

A recent lengthy opinion on the Gaza conflict pins the entire blame for this colossal loss of life and property on the victims.

• An effective strategy to excite and anger the reader.

• Accuracy is secondary to delivering the message.

• From this perspective, Palestinians and Arabs are all the same and share the single goal of throwing the Jews into the sea. A more objective observer might come to a different conclusion. For example, having an internationally supervised port would seem to be a legitimate and reasonable request. Lifting the now eight-year blockade and allowing the export and import of goods could result in a surprising change. The Gaza Strip is populated by human beings who want to live as human beings.

Inmates in jails or prisoner-of-war camps dig tunnels to escape. Without barbed wire and armed guards, there would be no need for them. The death and destruction resulting from the recent bombardment of the strip far exceeds the damage to homes, factories and farms of Operation Cast Lead in 2008. Collective punishment for individual misdeeds was the choice of punishment of the pre-war European dictatorships. Three recent homicides in the West Bank triggered night raids and arrests of perhaps 500 people not even remotely connected to these crimes. Liberty and justice for all is a revered dictum in our country. A democratic Israel needs to apply this principle to all its inhabitants living in its boundaries occupied, disputed or whatever terms are appropriate. Two sets of laws based on religious affiliation are odious and must be set aside for Israel to maintain respect from others.

The last chapter of Israel, the country, will not be written in our lifetime but it will be written.

Stefan Edlis

Aspen

Letter: Community policing works in Aspen

August 23, 2014 — 

Mike Littwin’s Aug. 17, Aspen Times column “A sudden calm in Ferguson,” was a great wake-up call for people to be aware of the militarization of law enforcement in much of America today.

We are fortunate here to have the police and sheriff departments we do.

Michael Galvis

Woody Creek

Letter: APD is on the move

August 23, 2014 — 

On Aug. 15, we invited the community to participate in an a police department open house. Our goal was to illustrate the state of our current facilities and to invite community feedback.

I would like to say thank you from all of us here at the police department for the overwhelming response and support we received from the community! We were deeply appreciative of the number of people that took time out of their day to visit with us, take a tour and share in our barbecue.

As many of you are aware, we have to move out of our current space in the basement of the county courthouse and design, build and move into a new facility by the beginning of 2018.

We look forward to hearing what members of the community have to say regarding a new police facility as we work through the design process. If you missed the opportunity to visit us at the open house, please stop by at any time and we would be happy to show you around.

Richard Pryor

Chief of police, Aspen Police Department

Letter: Treat your body right

August 23, 2014 — 

Working hard and playing hard in the Roaring Fork Valley creates a situation that can have its consequences. While we are fortunate to have the great outdoors to counter the demands of work, placing more demands on the body can lead to health issues.

Stress comes in different forms. The six basic types of stress are physical (structural), mental (emotional), biochemical (nutritional), electromagnetic and toxins and allergies. Our world is much more complicated and stressful, and there is an interconnection throughout our lives that we are affected by.

Accumulated stress syndrome plays a role in most if not all diseases of the body. The body is remarkable at how resilient yet how sensitive it is to the demands we place on it.

The adrenalin rush or the endorphin high is an experience that so many enjoy. The adrenal glands produce adrenalin and are the front line when it comes to rising to the demands of a situation. Whether it be work or play, the “fight or flight” mechanism kicks in when we work hard or play hard. If you are working or playing hard for extended periods of time, it is the adrenal glands that are providing you much of your “rhino” energy. Adrenal exhaustion is epidemic in our society, and it plays a role in many health issues.

We are all just energy packs, and the more demands we place on our batteries, the more reserves our bodies will have to rely on to perform. If we don’t replenish and maintain our bodies, they will eventually break down.

Take, for instance, someone who works in a service business and is on their feet all day. Before or after work, they may go for a hike or a run. Realize that a 150-pound person will put 1.5 tons of pressure on each foot every mile. Think about the accumulated stress and the effects that take place on the body in just this one example. Weaknesses, imbalances and structural misalignments can exacerbate these stresses.

Sooner or later, our bodies will no longer be able to meet the demands that are placed on them.

Confusing fitness with health only compounds this dilemma. The answer is not to exercise more. An answer is to maintain your body specific to your individual needs. How often does the race car pull into the pit during the race, and what kind of maintenance is performed on that car between races?

There are some things that can be done to optimize your health. Structural integrity is important, as it ensures that your nervous system is communicating effectively and responding to the demands in your environment. Providing good nutrition is essential. Eating organic foods and reducing sugars and carbohydrates are important. Even with eating well, proper vitamin supplementation can be beneficial. Detox whenever you can.

It is important to address all of the areas of stress so that you can live and enjoy an optimal lifestyle.

Remember that if you are going to work hard and play hard, you will benefit from properly maintaining good health.

Don’t make the mistake of sacrificing your health. You have been given one body. The better you treat it, the better it will treat you.

Dr. Tom Lankering

Basalt

Letter: Let’s roll up our sleeves, Snowmass

August 22, 2014 — 

Let’s roll up our sleeves, Snowmass

Aspen Skiing Co. announced a deal between it and Snowmass Acquisition Co. (Related) to go forward with building a Limelight Hotel Snowmass, at Snowmass Town Council’s meeting Aug. 18. According to my understanding after attending this meeting, the Limelight Snowmass cannot go forward unless:

• Skico can build Fanny Hill Townhomes to offset some of the construction costs of the Limelight, and

• Snowmass Village Town Council approves the extension of the vesting rights for Base Village for Related for the remaining infrastructure.

The meeting focused on the previous five years of turmoil that the Snowmass Village has endured and Related’s newest presentation of a plan. Related proposed 21 milestones that would have negative impacts against the developer if not met was a great start, but there were no milestones that had finish dates. Town Council and some members of the public were not impressed with the plan and wanted more specific details.

In my 40-plus year tenure as a Snowmass resident, I can honestly say change has never been easy to come in Snowmass Village. But change is necessary to keep my hometown a vital, thriving community and to make sure it stays a world-class resort destination.

Members of council, mayors (past, present, and future), my friends and neighbors have asked my opinion of who’s right, or which way is best. I can answer in only one way. If having a new roundabout is necessary to get going in the right direction, then let’s get it done. If we are spending hundreds of thousands of marketing dollars every year for visitors to come but have nothing new to offer them, then let’s start and finish true one-of-a-kind experiences to have visitors come to Snowmass, and come back again for generations. Halfway completed buildings and unfinished plans are not the way to move forward. We need to stop pointing the finger, work together, and make Snowmass, my home, even better tomorrow than it was yesterday.

My name is Greg Rulon, and I am pro-Snowmass.

Greg Rulon

Snowmass Village

Letter: Ashtrays preceded iPads

August 22, 2014 — 

Ashtrays preceded iPads

Not only is Cai Guo-Qiang’s exploitation of tortoises appalling, it is not even original.

Salvador Dali was well known for the tortoise he trained to circulate at his parties with an ashtray fastened to its back.

Melissa Shennan

Aspen

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top